CITIZEN PLANNING COMMITTEE

November 14, 2017

Meeting Called to Order: 6:35 pm

Present: Pamela Hamel, Bernard Dauphinais, Michele Lacroix, Vickie Kimball, Bonnie Lane, Steve Lindsey, Tony Tavares, Deborah Johnson (Planning Board Liaison)

Town Residents Attending: Stephen (Slim) Spafford, Ray Blake

The Town Clerk, Ruth Millett, was present and all Committee Members were sworn in. They will serve until 4/25/2019.

The Committee waived reading of the Oct 10 Minutes. Following review by members, the Minutes were approved as presented.

The revised Implementation Section of the Master Plan was provided to attending committee members. (See attached). The revisions requested on Oct 10th by B. Dauphinais now reflect the committee name and longer time-frames to complete tasks. For the benefit of the committee and new members, S. Lindsey and T. Tavares, the document was briefly reviewed as a helpful guide to understand their charge and related tasks.

Planning Consultant, Steve Whitman, and his colleague, Liz Kelly were introduced. Steve is the principal of Resilience Planning & Design LLC. Their presentation focused the committee on the community planning process and what it entails. In essence, it is the process of finding the best "tool" to help guide growth and development in the Town in order to fulfill the vision and principals of the Master Plan, as prioritized by the residents of Groton.

Discussion was prompted by several questions from committee members. S. Lindsey's inquiries helped the committee understand the difference between subdivision regulations (drafted and voted on by the Planning Board and applying to subdivisions only) and town zoning – a collective agreement among residents (voted on by the whole Town and applying to all parcels and everyone equally). There are also different approaches to planning, non-regulatory or regulatory, as well as different tools, Euclidean, performance and/or hybrid zoning. (Please see the attached presentation).

Just prior to the close of the meeting, the discussion turned to the election of the Chair, Vice-Chair and Secretary and review of the duties for those positions. Pamela Hamel was elected to be the Committee's Chair, Bonnie Lane will serve as Vice-Chair and Deb Johnson was voted to perform Clerical duties.

The next meeting was confirmed for 6:30 pm on November 28. Steve Whitman will again join the committee to help set a direction for "getting the word out" to the Groton community that a town planning process is underway.

The meeting was closed 8:40 pm

Respectfully submitted,

Deborah B Johnson